Armstrong Joins Effort to Award Congressional Gold Medal to Fallen Servicemembers

September 3, 2021
Press Release

WASHINGTON – Today, Congressman Kelly Armstrong (R-ND) cosponsored legislation to posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to the 13 U.S. military servicemembers who were killed in Afghanistan last week. This bill was introduced by Congresswoman Lisa McClain (R-MI) and is cosponsored by a bipartisan group of 226 lawmakers.

The Congressional Gold Medal is Congress’s highest expression of national appreciation for distinguished achievements and contributions by individuals or institutions. The bill will award this medal to Staff Sgt. Darin Taylor Hoover, Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, Sgt. Nicole Gee, Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Cpl. Daegan Page, Cpl. Humberto Sanchez, Cpl. David Lee Espinoza, Lance Cpl. Jared Schmitz, Lance Cpl. Rylee McCollum, Lance Cpl. Dylan Merola, Lance Cpl. Kareem Nikoui, Hospitalman Maxton Soviak and Staff Sgt. Ryan Knauss.

We must never forget the service of the thirteen Americans who made the ultimate sacrifice in defense of our freedoms and liberties, said Congressman Armstrong. “I am honored to support this legislation awarding each of these heroes the Congressional Gold Medal.”

The full legislation can be found here.